home is such a lonely place//

on

 

Blink-182 made a new song. It goes something like this,

“home is such a lonely place without you”.

 

21 years and I’ve never written about you.

 

Writing was always my means of coming to terms with things, writing was me coming to terms with the emotions,

writing was my sanctuary; the act of giving myself the closure i needed.

my own “the end”.

You are both my loneliness and companion,

You are my shadow that no one knows of,

You are a constant, that’s been there with me through every crippling night.

 

and even if you left sooner than you arrived,

you imprinted on to my soul,

where i have kept you safe inside since

and you will always be.

 

And it terrifies me that with every word I impart, I will loose you.

 

I’ve been missing you more lately. I’d like to think home wouldn’t have been as lonely if i had you to run to, fall back on to.

 

But it terrifies me that with every word I impart, I will loose you.

 

So I will revert back hiding you in the hemlines of my soul, where you will stay safe forever more.

Leave a Reply

