Wear your heart on your sleeve.

on

Hi friend,

I tried to find the right words to say as you sat across the table and told me of your heartbreak.

You had a smile, downplaying the hurt. Silly girl, your eyes couldn’t lie.

I wanted to hold you and say something profound that would take away the hurt.  But I couldn’t find the right words. I didn’t want to tell you its going to be okay, I didn’t want to tell you that it’ll go away. So I stayed silent, and hugged you awkwardly to compensate.

Twenty-four hours since, I’m still trying to find the words to make it better.

I still don’t want to say its going to be okay. You loved, unconditionally. The wounds may heal with time but the scars won’t go away. I know better than to tell you another lie.

We’ve succumbed to the notion of “one-true-love”. I say its all a lie. In your life time, you will meet different people, and you will fall in love with each of them, each in a different way. Giving love a second chance, giving yourself a second chance to fall in love, doesn’t make your love any less truer than the last time.  I think its beautiful that life gives us a second, third, and fourth chance to fall in love. I think its beautiful that life pushes us to find the courage to open up your heart again, I think its beautiful that life keeps reminding us to fall in love again.

I think I finally found what I want to say to you;

Its okay that you’re hurting. Don’t deny yourself of feeling – happiness and pain alike. That’s what makes you human, don’t deny yourself of that.

Please don’t ever stop wearing your heart on your sleeve. Give yourself a second chance, give love a second chance. It takes courage to love in a world that gravitates towards hate.

Please,

don’t ever stop wearing your heart on your sleeve.

Leave a Reply

