Writing as Anika: 07. Recovery. 

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

And I finally tell you,

Not all of it – but enough

I tell you about the bruises,

The scars,

The nightmares,

The sleepless nights.

I tell you the stories

Of a body rejecting life,

Malfunctioning,

Shutting down,

crippled with the fear of carrying the devil’s child.

You cry,

On my behalf.

I hold back,

I can’t bear to see you hurt.

It’s okay, I tell you

I’m much better now.

I hurt much less –

I hurt myself much less.

You hold me,

Tell me it’s okay,

Tell me it doesn’t change anything,

Tell me that you’re sorry,

Sorry I had to hurt.

And then you tell me what I wanted to here,

You tell me “we will get through this, I promise you, I won’t leave you”. 

and just like that,

I start the road to recovery.

Leave a Reply

